This very detailed map covers a colliery area SW of the City of Durham. Three collieries are shown, each with its coke ovens: Littleburn Colliery stands alongside the NER main line which runs down the eastern part of the map. A short spur leads to Brownhey Colliery. To the west the large Brandon Colliery, with A, B and C Pits, stands alongside the NER Bishop Auckland Branch. Part of the pit villages of Brandon Colliery and Littleburn are also shown (they continue north onto the Langley Moor map) but 2 small villages are shown complete: Meadowfield, on the main road, with its St John's church; and Browney Colliery village, which had 3 chapels, next to each other. On the reverse we include the Brandon Parish entry from an 1894 directory. This fascinating map gives a splendid portrait of Durham's mining past.
The map links up with Sheet 26.12 Langley Moor to the north.